jazz & blues music blog with news, reviews, concerts & more, with a Canadian focus

April 6, 2006

National Jazz Awards to Honour Canadian Presenters

Written by
cindy mcleod

Canadian jazz news

National Jazz Awards to Honour Jazz Presenters

Lothar & Brigitte Lang, owners of Toronto’s famed Montreal Bistro and Jazz Club, are to receive the Ken Page Memorial Award during the 2006 Jazz Awards Gala in Toronto on April 10, 2006. The award honours the Lang’s commitment to presenting the world’s leading jazz artists live. The gala ceremony will include the handing out of Jazz Awards to leading musicians and industry persons.

The couple are celebrating their 24th year dedicated to presenting outstanding jazz performers to Toronto audiences, originally as owners of the renowned Café des Copains from 1983 to 1991 and since then, at their internationally-famous Montreal Restaurant, Bistro, and Jazz Club.

In 1983, they purchased Café des Copains in Toronto, where they initiated a policy of featuring the world’s finest piano players until the club closed in 1991. Among them were keyboard giants Jay McShann, Art Hodes, Cedar Walton, Dick Wellstood, Randy Weston, Barry Harris, Martial Solal, Don Pullen, Ray Bryant, Junior Mance, Kenny Barron, Oliver Jones, Joanne Brackeen, Ralph Sutton, Dick Hyman, Tommy Flanagan, and Dave McKenna.

When the lease at the Café des Copains expired, Lothar simply moved the music to the Montreal Bistro where the jazz policy was widened to include a broader spectrum of performers to include up-and-comers such as Geoff Keezer, Bill Charlap, Diana Krall, and Kenny Drew Jr., along with established players Lew Tabackin, Doc Cheatham, Peter Appleyard, Molly Johnson, Ed Bickert, Joey Defrancesco, Fred Hersch, Nat Adderley, Moe Koffman, Rob McConnell, Phil Nimmons, Bill Mays, John Abercrombie, Don Thompson…the list is all-inclusive.

Today the Montreal Restaurant, Bistro & Jazz Club continues to feature the very finest performers the jazz world has to offer 52 weeks a year in a hospitable atmosphere graciously presided over by Brigitte & Lothar Lang, recipients of the 2006 “Ken Page Lifetime Achievement” Award in recognition of ‘exceptional individual contributions to the development and growth of jazz in Canada’.

For more information visit www.nationaljazzawards.com

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.