jazz & blues music blog with news, reviews, concerts & more, with a Canadian focus

September 15, 2006

Western Canadian Music Awards Nominees Announced

Written by
cindy mcleod

Canadian music news

Jann Arden, Corb Lund lead the way with four WCMA nominations each

Nominations for the Western Canadian Music Awards were announced yesterday in Winnipeg at a press conference. The music and industry awards will be handed out during a ceremony to be held in that city October 22, 2006.

Jann Arden and Corb Lund lead the way with four nominations each, while other multiple nominees include Bif Naked, Michael Buble, Hedley, Diana Krall, Nickelback and The Road Hammers. The Winnipeg-based rock band Harlequin will be inducted into the Western Canadian Music Hall of Fame during the awards ceremony.

Jazz artists Diana Krall and Michael Buble received two nominations apiece, both for Outstanding Album, Major Label, while Buble receives a second nomination for Entertainer of the Year, and Krall is acknowledged along with partner TommyLiPuma for Producer of the Year.

Roots artist Corb Lund is joined in receiving multiple nominations by Harry Manx (Outstanding Roots Recording, Producer of the Year), while The Agonostic Mountain Choir is recognized with nominations for Outstanding Blues Recording and Outstanding Album, Independent.

The awards recognize musicians from the four western provinces and the Yukon, and are a stepping stone for emerging artists and an opportunity to recognize homegrown talent that has found success on a larger stage.

The awards will mark the end of a four-day festival of music that includes workshops, a conference and a showcase for about 75 acts in various venues around the city.

Following is the list of artistic nominations recognizing jazz and blues artists and their work:

Entertainer of the Year: Corb Lund, Jann Arden, Michael Buble, The Bills, The Road Hammers.

Outstanding Album, Major Label: Diana Krall – Christmas Songs, Hedley – Hedley, Jann Arden – Jann Arden, Michael Buble – It’s Time, Nickelback – All The Right Reasons.

Outstanding Jazz Recording: Bomba – Entre Sol y Luz, Brad Turner Quartet – What Is, Denzal Sinclaire – My One and Only Love, Hutchinson Andrew Trio – Lost but not Forgotten, Marc Atkinson Trio – III, The Ian McDougall Quintet – In A Sentimental Mood.

Outstanding Blues Recording: Doug Cox & Sam Hurrie – Hungry Ghosts, Little Miss Higgins – Cobbler Shop Sessions, Richie Pollack – Stew, The Agnostic Mountain Gospel Choir – Fighting and Onions, The Perpetrators – The Gas and The Clutch.

Outstanding Roots Recording:Angela Harris – Roots, Corb Lund – Hair In My Eyes Like A Highland Steer, Harry Manx – Mantras for Madmen, Karla Anderson – The Embassy Sessions, Steve Dawson – We Belong to the Gold Coast.

Outstanding Album, Independent: Au4 – On: Audio, Corb Lund – Hair In My Eyes Like a Highland Steer, Madrigaia – Pleiades, The Agnostic Mountain Gospel Choir – Fighting and Onions, The New Pornographers – Twin Cinema.

Producer of the Year: Jann Arden/Russell Broom – Jann Arden, Jeff Dawson/Mitchell Froom – Daniel Powter, Tommy LiPuma/Diana Krall – Christmas Songs (Diana Krall), Jordy Sharp – Mantras for Madmen (Harry Manx), The Cruzeros – Scandelosa

for complete listings visit www.westerncanadianmusicawards.ca

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.