jazz & blues music blog with news, reviews, concerts & more, with a Canadian focus

November 11, 2006

Maple Blues Awards Announces 2006 Nominees

Written by
cindy mcleod

Canadian blues music news

Western Canadian Artists Make Strong Showing in Maple Blues Nominations

The Maple Blues Awards, Canada’s nod to outstanding achievement in blues music, has announced the nominees for 2006 awards. The tenth annual affair is slated to take place Monday, Jan 15 in Toronto, where winners will be announced at a gala hosted by Vancouver bluesman and actor Jim Byrnes.

The roster of multiple nominees reads like a who’s who of Canadian blues, with western Canadian artists Byrnes, Harry Manxx and Kenny Blues Boss Wayne receiving recognition, while the east coast’s John Campbelljohn, Quebec’s Dawn Tyler Watson, and Ontario’s Harrison Kennedy, Mel Brown and Sue Foley also received multiple awards.

Calgary artists to receive nominations in 2006 include guitarist/vocalist Tim Williams, drummer/vocalist Donald Ray Johnson, saxophonist Mike Clark, and the Agnostic Mountain Gospel Choir. Other western artists receiving recognition include Victoria guitarist Bill Johnson, Vancouver guitarist Colin James, and Vancouver harmonica player David Hoerl.

This year’s Blues Booster Award honouring outstanding contribution to the Canadian Blues industry will be given to filmmaker Mako Funasaka in recognition of his success in documenting the Blues in Canada through his network-broadcast Talkin’ Blues series.

The nominees were selected by a panel of blues experts from across the nation, while the winners are selected by the public, who can make their choices known online from Nov 13 until Dec 16 2006 at www.mapleblues.ca.

The Maple Blues Awards Gala is the culmination of Blues Summit III, an industry conference bringing together blues festivals, societies, labels, musicians and fans. Blues Summit III will take place from January 13-15 at the Delta Chelsea Hotel in Toronto.


Entertainer of the Year
Jim Byrnes
Downchild Blues Band
Jack de Keyzer
Dawn Tyler Watson
Kenny ‘Blues Boss’ Wayne

Electric Act of the Year
Mel Brown
John Campbelljohn
Colin James
Garrett Mason
The Perpetrators

Acoustic Act of the Year
Rick Fines & Suzie Vinnick
Hot Toddy/Isaac & Blewitt
Harrison Kennedy
Harry Manx
Tim Williams

Male Vocalist of the Year
Jim Byrnes
David Clayton-Thomas
Donald Ray Johnson
Harrison Kennedy
John Mays

Female Vocalist of the Year
Rita Chiarelli
Ndidi Onukwulu
Roxanne Potvin
Suzie Vinnick
Dawn Tyler Watson

New Artist/Group of the Year
The Agnostic Mountain Gospel Choir
Treasa Levasseur
Ndidi Onukwulu
Ricky Paquette
Trouble & Strife

Recording of the Year
Blues – A Beautiful Thing (Electro-Fi)
Artist: Mel Brown
Producer: Mel Brown & Andrew Galloway
House Of Refuge (Black Hen)
Artist: Jim Byrnes
Producer: Steve Dawson
Kissing In 29 Days (NorthernBlues)
Artist: JW-Jones Blues Band
Producer: JW-Jones
Morning Sun (Electro-Fi)
Artist: Diana Braithwaite & Chris Whiteley
Producer: Diana Braithwaite & Chris Whiteley
No, I Never (Jericho Beach)
Artist: Ndidi Onukwulu
Producer: Sam Goldberg

B.B. King International Artist of the Year
Solomon Burke
James Hunter
Bettye Lavette
Keb’ Mo’
Watermelon Slim

Guitarist of the Year
Kevin Breit
Mel Brown
John Campbelljohn
Sue Foley
Bill Johnson

Harmonica Player of the Year
David Hoerl
Carlos del Junco
Al Lerman
Paul Reddick
David Rotundo

Piano/Keyboard Player of the Year
Lance Anderson
Richard Bell
Julian Fauth
Graham Guest
Kenny ‘Blues Boss’ Wayne

Horn Player of the Year
Pat Carey
Mike Clark
Johnny Ferreira
Chris Murphy
Chris Whiteley

Drummer of the Year
Geoff Arsenault
Bucky Berger
Al Cross
Mike Sloski
Bob Vespaziani

Bass Player of the Year
Alec Fraser
Russell Jackson
Gary Kendall
Omar Tunnoch
Suzie Vinnick

Songwriter of the Year
Ray Bonneville
Jim Byrnes
Rick Fines & Suzie Vinnick
Harry Manx
Chris Whiteley

for more information visit www.torontobluessociety.com

Monday, Jan. 15, 2007 8pm
The Maple Blues Awards
The Mod Club Theatre / Toronto

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.