jazz & blues music blog with news, reviews, concerts & more, with a Canadian focus

April 11, 2007

National Jazz Awards Winners Announced

Written by
cindy mcleod

Canadian jazz music news

National Jazz Awards Handed Out at Gala Event

Canada’s sixth annual National Jazz Awards were handed out at a gala event in Toronto at the Palais Royale Theatre last night. The awards recognize the outstanding achievements of jazz musicians in Canada, as nominated by a committee of industry experts and selected by the public in an online voting system.

Dionne Taylor and David Clayton Thomas co-hosted the ceremony, which included performances by Oliver Jones, John Nugent, Jim Galloway, Hugh Fraser, Peter Appleyard and young singer Sophie Berkel.

Legendary clarinet master Phil Nimmons captured two awards for Best Clarinetist and Best Arranger, as did pianist/vocalist Diana Krall, whose From This Moment On (2006) garnered Female Vocalist of the Year and International Musician of the Year. Crooner Michael Bublé took home the Male Vocalist Award.

Hilario Duran, a Cuban-born jazz musician who teaches at Toronto’s acclaimed jazz faculty at Humber College in Toronto, won best Latin Jazz Artist, and his Hilario Duran Latin Jazz Band, formed in 2005, was named Best Big Band.

Montreal pianist Oliver Jones received the award for Jazz Album of the Year for One More Time, made last year after he came out of a much-publicized retirement.

The Murley/Braid Quartet, featuring Mike Murley (tenor saxophone) and David Braid (piano) took the honours for Best Acoustic Band, while Braid also earned the award for Best Composer and Murley was named Best Saxophonist.

Several seasoned players received awards for the first time, including George Koller (Best Bassist), Robi Botos (Best Keyboardist), Russ Little (Best Trombonist) and Anne Lindsay (Best Violinist).

Other winners included: Terry Clarke (Best Drummer), Reg Schwager (Best Guitarist), Roberto Occhipinti (Best Producer), Nick Ali’s Electryc Trio (Best Electric Group) and Justin Time (Best Jazz Label).

Media awards went to Star columnist Geoff Chapman, JAZZFM91’s Heather Bambrick and photographer Bill King.

Album of the Year: One More Time, Oliver Jones
Best Female Vocalist: Diana Krall
Best Male Vocalist: Michael Bublé
Best International Musician: Diana Krall
Best Musician: Don Thompson
Best Instrumentalist: Don Thompson
Best Arranger: Phil Nimmons
Best Latin Jazz Artist: Hilario Duran
Best Big Band: Hilario Duran Latin Jazz Band
Best Electric Band: Nick Ali’s Electryc Trio
Best Keyboardist: Robi Botos
Best Bassist: George Koller
Best Guitarist: Reg Schwager
Best Violinist: Anne Lindsay
Best Drummer: Terry Clark
Best Trumpeter: Guido Basso

visit www.nationaljazzawards.com for complete listings

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.