jazz & blues music blog with news, reviews, concerts & more, with a Canadian focus

February 12, 2008

East Coast Music Awards Handed Out

Written by
cindy mcleod

jazz, blues news, Canada

20th Annual ECMA’s – Jazz & Blues Award-Winners

The 20th annual East Coast Music Awards were handed out in Fredericton, New Brunswick on Sunday, Feb. 10th at the Aitken Centre.

Joel Plaskett Emergency were big winners, capturing six awards including Best Group Recording, Recording of the Year, Best Rock, Best Single and Best Video of the Year. Bandleader Plaskett also won Songwriter of the Year. Dave Gunning, The Rankin Family and Jamie Sparks won a pair of awards each.

The ECMA awards ceremony, hosted by Steven Page of the Barenaked Ladies, will be broadcast in a special one-hour program on CBC Television on March 2.

Winners of the 2008 East Coast Music Award in the jazz and blues categories:


Tom Swift
Blues Recording of the Year

Blues Recording of the Year: Into The Dirt (Thom Swift)

Thom Swift’s rich and soulful voice, insightful writing and casual wit, warms and delights audiences everywhere he performs. Swift, who plays acoustic guitar, resonator guitar, banjo and mandolin, is a member of the 2007 Canadian Maple Blues Award and ECMA winning trio Hot Toddy. Swift’s much anticipated solo debut, Into the Dirt, delivers a distinctive blend of folk, blues, country and rag style.


Bill Stevenson, Tom Easley
Jazz Recording of the Year

Jazz Recording of the Year : For The Record (Bill Stevenson & Tom Easley)

Pianist Bill Stevenson has been performing music for more than 40 years, which has led to touring with The Doors to performing with such legends as John Lee Hooker and Amos Garrett. Bassist, Tom Easley has earned a reputation as one of Eastern Canada’s finest jazz bassists. Tom co-leads the 2005 East Coast Music Award winning group, Hot Toddy.

for more info and complete listings visit www.ecma.ca

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.