jazz & blues music blog with news, reviews, concerts & more, with a Canadian focus

March 9, 2008

Canadian Smooth Jazz Award Winners Announced

Written by
cindy mcleod

jazz awards, Canada

Fourth Annual Ceremony Hosted by Alexander Zonjic

The fourth annual Canadian Smooth Jazz Awards were held in Mississauga, Ontario last Friday, with winners announced during the gala ceremony hosted by broadcaster and musician Alexander Zonjic.

The evening featured a full roster of performances by renowned Smooth Jazz artists including saxophonist Warren Hill, vocalist/pianist Carol Welsman, newcomer Allistair Elliott, and guitarists Dave Sereny and Les Sabler. Singer Alfie Zappacosta, host Alexander Zonjic, vocalist/bassist Slim Man and guitarist Peter White will also perform.
Pop singer Michael Buble topped the awards with two wins for ‘Male Vocalist of the Year’ and ‘Best Original Composition’ for his song Everything, co-written by Alan Chan and Amy Foster-Gillies.
Calgary musicians Allistair Elliott and Kristian Alexandrov (now of Vancouver) brought home a pair of Smooth Jazz awards for their work on Urban Nights (Chronograph Records, 2007), with Elliott nominated for two awards and capturing ‘Best Wind Instrumentalist of the Year’, while producer and co-writer Alexandrov took the award for ‘Best Keyboardist of the Year.’ Alexandrov also performed during the ceremony.
Other winners included British guitarist Peter White, who took the International Instrumentalist of the Year,’ singers Diana Krall, named ‘Female Vocalist of the Year’ and Randy Crawford, winner of ‘International Vocalist of the Year.’ Pianist-singer Carol Welsman returned to the stage after her performance to pick up the award for ‘Album of the Year’, while Vancouver’s Jesse Cook picked up ‘Guitarist of the Year’.

2008 Winners Canadian Smooth Jazz Awards:

International Instrumental – Peter White
International Vocal – Randy Crawford
Female Vocalist – Diana Krall
Male Vocalist – Michael Buble
Guitarist of the Year – Jesse Cook
Wind Instrumentalist- Allistair Elliott
Keyboardist/Pianist – Kristian Alexandrov
Album of the Year – Carol Welsman ‘Carol Welsman’
Best Original Composition – Michael Buble/Alan Chan/Amy Foster-Gillies “Everything”
Broadcaster of the Year Alexander Zonjic – WVMV Detroit, Michigan

for more info visit www.smoothjazznow.com

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.