jazz & blues music blog with news, reviews, concerts & more, with a Canadian focus

March 11, 2008

National Jazz Awards Honour Three Greats in Memoriam

Written by
cindy mcleod

jazz news, Canada

Oscar Peterson, Doug Riley and Jeff Healey Honoured During Ceremony

The 2008 National Jazz Awards gala is set to take place on April 8 at Palais Royale in Toronto.

Organizers have announced it will be honouring the passing of three jazz greats during the ceremony.

Piano virtuoso Oscar Peterson, who died at his home in Mississauga, Ont. on December 23, will be honoured with the Musician of the Year award, to be presented to Peterson’s family at the ceremony be Ontario Premier Bob Rae.

Composer, arranger and keyboard giant Doug Riley, who died in August, 2007, will be honoured with the Jazz Pioneer Award.

The Artist of Distinction award will honour guitarist Jeff Healey, who passed away last week of cancer.

The National Jazz Awards ceremony will celebrate both established and emerging artists, and features performances by young stars including vocalist Kellylee Evans and pianist Michael Kaeshammer, who will also co-host the event, as well as Laila Biali Trio, Elisabeth Shephard Trio and Nikki Yanofsky. Seasoned performers will include bassist Jodi Proznick, Richard Underhill, and Alex Bellegarde, among the headline artists.

The awards winners were selected by the public in an online vote.

vor more info visit www.nationaljazzawards.com

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.