jazz & blues music blog with news, reviews, concerts & more, with a Canadian focus

October 30, 2008

Maple Blues Awards Online Vote Set to Begin

Written by
cindy mcleod

blues music news, Canada

Maple Blues Awards logo

Maple Blues Awards
Online Vote
Nov 1 to Dec 6

Maple Blues Awards Recognized Achievement in Canadian Blues

Toronto Blues Society has announced online voting for the 2008 Maple Blues Awards will begin on November 1st and run through to December 6th, 2008. The awards recognize outstanding achievement in blues music in Canada for the past year.

The public are invited to vote for their favourite blues artists and industry members at the www.torontobluessociety.com website. Nominees were selected by a panel of 40+ blues experts that includes radio hosts, journalists and festival organizers regionally distributed across Canada.

Winners of the awards will be announced at the Annual Maple Blues Awards Gala in Toronto, on January 19, 2009. The Gala will be held as part of Blues Summit lV, January 17-19, a music industry conference.

For more info visit www.torontobluessociety.com

2008 Maple Blues Awards – Nominees

Entertainer Of The Year

Big Dave McLean
Dawn Tyler Watson
Garrett Mason
Jeff Healey

Electric Act Of The Year

David Rotundo
Garrett Mason
Jack de Keyzer
Jeff Healey

Acoustic Act Of The Year

Big Dave McLean
Harry Manx
Julian Fauth
Michael Jerome Browne
Thom Swift

Male Vocalist Of The Year

Bob Walsh
Danny Brooks
Harrison Kennedy
John Mays (Fathead)
Paul Reddick

Female Vocalist Of The Year

Dawn Tyler Watson
Roxanne Potvin
Shakura S’Aida
Suzie Vinnick
Treasa Levasseur

New Artist/Group Of The Year

Daddy Long Legs
Keith Hallett
Marshall Lawrence
Monkey Junk

BB King International Artist Of The Year

Eric Bibb
James Hunter
Mavis Staples
Taj Mahal
Watermelon Slim and the Workers

Recording Of The Year

Get Way Back (Stony Plain)

* Artist: Amos Garrett
* Producers: Amos Garrett & Dave Allcock

Mess of Blues (Stony Plain)

* Artist: Jeff Healey
* Producers: Jeff Healey & Alec Fraser

Ramblin’ Son (Electro-Fi)

* Artist: Julian Fauth
* Producers: Andrew Galloway, Alec Fraser & Julian Fauth

Goin’ By Feel (Red House)

* Artist: Ray Bonneville
* Producers: Rob Heaney, Gurf Morlix & Ray Bonneville

Low Fidelity (Slim Chicken)

* Artist: Treasa Levasseur
* Producers: David Gavan Baxter & Treasa Levasseur

Blues With A Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement Award)

Danny Brooks
Michael Fonfara
Alec Fraser
Amos Garrett
Tom Lavin
Ellen McIlwaine
Joe Murphy
Chris Whiteley
Ken Whiteley
Terry Wilkins

Guitarist Of The Year

Amos Garrett
Garrett Mason
Jeff Healey
Steve Strongman

Harmonica Player Of The Year

Carlos Del Junco
Guy Belanger
Jerome Godboo
Paul Reddick
Steve Marriner (Monkey Junk)

Piano/Keyboard Player Of The Year

Curley Bridges
Dave Murphy (Jeff Healey Band)
Julian Fauth
Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne
Michael Fonfara (Downchild)

Horn Player Of The Year

Chris Murphy
Chris Whiteley
Dave Babcock (Amos Garrett)
Johnny Ferreira
Pat Carey (Downchild)

Drummer Of The Year

Al Webster (Jeff Healey Blues Band)
Bucky Berger (Fathead)
Chris Nordquist (The Twisters)
Geoff Arsenault (Morgan Davis)
Maureen Brown

Bassist Of The Year

Alan Duffy (Jack De Keyzer)
Alec Fraser (Jeff Healey Blues Band & Broken Joe)
Keith Picot (The Twisters)
Stephen Barry
Tom Easley (Hot Toddy)

Songwriter Of The Year

Julian Fauth
Paul Reddick
Ray Bonneville
Thom Swift
Treasa Levasseur

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.