jazz & blues music blog with news, reviews, concerts & more, with a Canadian focus

December 23, 2008

Blues Music Awards Nominees Announced

Written by
cindy mcleod

blues news, Canada

Blues Music Awards logo

The Blues Foundation
Blues Music Awards
Nominees 2008

Stony Plain Records Artists Receive Six Nominations

Nominees for the 30th Annual Blues Music Awards were recently announced by The Blues Foundation in Memphis, Tennesee. Winners will be announced during the gala event to be held at the Cook Convention Centre in Memphis on May 7, 2009.

West coast-based group The Mannish Boys lead with six nominations for Band, Traditional Album and Album of the Year as well as nominations for band members Richard Innes (Drums), Kid Ramos (Guitar), and Larry Taylor (Bass). Tied with four nominations each are slide guitar legend Elvin Bishop, pianist Eden Brent, songstress Janiva Magness, soul man Curtis Salgado, and guitarist Watermelon Slim. Buddy Guy is nominated for three awards and B.B. King for two.

Four artists on the Edmonton label Stony Plain Records have received a total of six nominations for this year’s honours. Five-time Blues Music Award- winner Rory Block was nominated for ‘Acoustic Guitarist of the Year’, and ‘Acoustic Album of the Year’ for her CD Blues Walkin’ Like a Man (2008). Ronnie Earl has been nominated ‘Best Guitarist,’ an award he’s captured twice before, and ‘DVD of the Year’ for his new Hope Radio Sessions. Acclaimed singer Maria Muldaur has been nominated for ‘Traditional Blues Female Artist of the Year;’ while the late Jeff Healey’s posthumous release, Mess of Blues, was nominated as ‘Rock Blues Album of the Year,’ a new category added to this year’s awards.

To view the full list of nominees visit http://www.blues.org/bluesmusicawards/nominees.php4

Members of The Blues Foundation are invited to cast their votes for the 30th Annual Blues Music Awards until March 2, 2009 online at http://www.blues.org/bluesmusicawards/vote.php4

for more info visit www.stonyplainrecords.com

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.