jazz & blues music blog with news, reviews, concerts & more, with a Canadian focus

May 16, 2009

Canada’s National Jazz Awards Winners Announced

Written by
cindy mcleod

jazz music awards, Canada

Jodi Proznick

National Jazz Awards
2009 Award Winners

2009 Winners Named at Toronto Gala

The 8th Annual National Jazz Awards ceremony took place at Toronto’s Fleck Theatre on May 14th, representing 28 artist and industry awards categories.

The National Jazz Awards are presented by Galaxie, CBC’s Continuous Music Network, Slaight Communications and supported by FACTOR.

Hosting this year’s ceremony were Tim Tamashiro, weekend host of CBC Radio’s Tonic, and Karen Gordon, writer, radio host, and film reviewer.

An all-star line up of performers for the event included The Yamaha All-Stars, The Real Divas, Chris Donnelly, the Mario Allard Quintet, Christine & Ingrid Jensen, and the first National Jazz Orchestra, comprised of the top students from York University, Humber College and University of Toronto among them.


1. Drummer of the Year – Terry Clarke

2. Bassist of the Year – Jodi Proznik

3. Keyboardist of the Year – David Braid

4. Trumpeter of the Year – Brad Turner

5. Saxophonist of the Year – Phil Dwyer

6. Trombonist of the Year – Hugh Fraser

7. Guitarist of the Year – Bill Coon

8. Violinist of the Year – Jesse Zubot

9. Clarinetist of the Year – Bob DeAngelis

10. Big Band of the Year – Ian McDougall

11. Acoustic Band of the Year – Don Thompson Quartet

12. Latin Jazz Artist of the Year – Eliana Cuevas

13. Allan Slaight Artist of Distinction – Guido Basso

14. CBC Galaxie Rising Star – Eli Bennett

15. SOCAN Composer – Don Thompson

16. Arranger of the Year – John McLeod

17. Jazz Recording of the Year – Don Thompson -“For Kenny Wheeler’

18. Female Jazz Vocalist of the Year – Molly Johnson

19. Male Jazz Vocalist of the Year – Joe Coughlin

20. Musician of the Year – Oliver Jones

21. Electric Band of the Year – Sisters Euclid

22. Paul Hoeffler Jazz Photographer – Roger Humbert

23. Label of the Year – Cellar Live

24. Producer of the Year – Brad Turner

25. Festival of the Year – Vancouver

26. Broadcaster of the Year – Katie Malloch

27. Instrumentalist of the Year – Ross Taggart

28. Jazz Journalist of the Year – James Hale

for more info visit www.nationaljazzawards.com

One comment for this post.

  1. Pingback from What’s Popular? » Blog Archive » » Nominees Announced For National Jazz Awards Jazz Elements: Jazz … on May 16th, 2009 :

    […] » Canada's National Jazz Awards Winners Announced Jazz Elements … […]

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.