jazz & blues music blog with news, reviews, concerts & more, with a Canadian focus

January 19, 2010

Maple Blues Award Winners Announced

Written by
cindy mcleod

blues music news, Canada

Maple Blues Awards

Maple Blues Awards

Ottawa’s Monkey Junk Capture Five Awards

The Toronto Blues Society’s Maple Blues Award winners were announced last night at the annual gala.

Topping the awards were Ottawa band Monkey Junk, who captured five awards including Entertainer of the Year, Electric Act of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year (Steve Mariner), Guitarist of the Year (Tony D) and Harmonica Player of the Year (Steve Mariner).

B.C. Blues-roots great Chris Whitely took home three awards for Horn Player of the Year, the Blues With a Feeling Award and shared the SOCAN Songwriter of the Year with Diana Braithwaite.
Toronto based Blackburn took New Artist of the Year, while the late Jeff Healey won Recording of the Year for his Songs From the Road.

For the third consecutive year Harry Manx won Acoustic Act of the Year, while Suzie Vinnick took Female Vocalist of the Year and Taj Mahal won Best International Artist for the second consecutive year.

for more info visit www.torontobluessociety.com

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.